I recently came across the following sites while purging my Twitter Followers,

hteetp://joomladreamweaver.com/blog/
hteetp://joomlaphp.org/blog/
hteetp://joomlamodules.org/blog/
hteetp://joomlamodule.org/blog/
hteetp://joomlajoomlajoomla.com/blog/
hteetp://joomlagallery.org/blog/

It's obvious that these sites have been set to do everthing other than add value to Joomla or for Joomla Users, as an example look at one of the "articles" on http://joomlagallery.org/blog/ titled "Which script is the best website forum" , ........... and the answer is ?

at my host it gives me these options to install
select name
UseBB
osCommerce
MyBB
Xoops
4images
SMF
phpBB2
MyLittleForum
wikiwig
wordpress
Mambo
gallery
ZenCart
Joomla
cutenews
bBlog
sBlog
coppermine
tikiwiki
Nucleus

Which is the best fourm to install. should i install a sql first? can
some one explain it a little bit i know nothing about website making.


So, what's your take on this ?

Views: 10

Comment by C O'Shea on February 28, 2010 at 8:32am
i notice they arent even using joomla for their spam sites!
see you got more responses
http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=381&t=493473&p=2058...
Comment by Mark W. Bender on February 28, 2010 at 8:34am
And to "top it off" that URL is running WP not Joomla! There's got to be "something wrong" with that!
Comment by Chris Williams on February 28, 2010 at 9:17am
They're being used on Twitter as well, same sites sudo-spamming
Comment by Stian Didriksen on February 28, 2010 at 1:44pm
In my case, they followed me all at once.
Now that I see I'm not the only one who got followed by the same bunch of so called Joomla sites, you don't have to be Einstein to see it's just spam.
Report them to twitter, they're just like the usual "Make money online, free photoshop, enlarge your manhood, free pr0n" kind of junk.
Comment by Mustaq Sheikh on February 28, 2010 at 2:08pm
Yes, seems like they are following almost all Joomla folk who are on Twitter.

The situation is more serious than just SPAM on twitter. Take an example of someone looking for info on Joomla modules http://www.google.co.za/search?q=joomlamodule&ie=utf-8&oe=u... . See how high they rank for that search term due to their content rich junk.
Comment by Bo Astrup on February 28, 2010 at 3:08pm
there are a few in the PLR space like http://www.joomla-gold.net
Comment by Mustaq Sheikh on February 28, 2010 at 11:49pm
Already reported on the Joomla.Org forum
Comment by Peter Russell on March 1, 2010 at 6:36am
Thanks guys.
Comment by Hilary Cheyne on March 1, 2010 at 9:05am
They are fighting back! Their last tweet:

Beware Drupal, Joomla! plug-in vulnerabilities - CMSWatch (blog) http://bit.ly/aNn0oI

that was from:
http://twitter.com/JoomlaTemplate_/

It looks a bit like a 'wind-up' doesn't it? Here is another of their urls:

http://joomlajoomlajoomla.com/blog/about-joomla-tutorial/
Comment by Amy Stephen on March 1, 2010 at 10:23am
Why would anyone go to so much trouble? Industrial espionage? Jilted lover? Angry developer?

What is the real damage? Is something like this more than a drop in the bucket of SEO impact?

This has happened many, many times, already, and you have to wonder why anyone would go to so much trouble. That's why reputation management is so important to protecting your brand.

Comment

You need to be a member of All Together, As A Whole to add comments!

Join All Together, As A Whole

Badge

Loading…

© 2012   Created by Amy Stephen.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service